Jump to content

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 11/08/19 in all areas

  1. 3 points
    Saluton Tim! I first came across Esperanto from my dad and a satirical poltical party broadcast (random I know!). From this, I created an account on Lernu and started learning the language on Duolingo about 2-3 years ago, but lost motivation and interest. Since a few weeks ago, my interest is well and truly rekindled. The more I learn about Esperanto, its history and ideals, the more I fall in love with it. I have a lot of self doubt in terms of learning languages (my track-record isn't great). At the moment though I'm determined to prove to myself that I can become fluent in a different language. The plan I have in mind to learn this time round is daily use of Duolingo, work through Complete Esperanto, self-exposure to Esperanto songs, videos podcasts and comics and work on Lernu a few times a week. I'm also actively looking for conversation partners, preferably via Skype. When I feel brave enough (hopefully in about 4-6 months, I'm hoping to push myself and go to an actual meeting and converse with local enthusiasts - perhaps even at the EAB!
  2. 3 points
    Just downloaded the 1st book. Love the format - the note section after each lesson is easy to understand. To have these available free is an absolute bonus. Thanks EAB
  3. 2 points
    First of all, congraulations on the recent release of the Esperanto version of the Gruffalo! This got me thinking - there are plenty of other children's classics, adult fiction and graphic novels that seem to be fertile ground for further such translations. What is the legal/ general practical process for developing a translation of an already exisitng work? And how come there aren't more of these brilliant translations around?
  4. 2 points
    Our friend Bill Chapman, an Esperantist since the age of 16, sadly passed away peacefully on Thursday, May 21 2020. Bill had been battling cancer, with his usual cheer and optimism, over the past year. Unfortunately, despite steps to isolate him, Bill contracted Covid-19 and was taken to hospital, where he left us, although not before telling the nursing staff all about Esperanto, true to form! It isn't possible to do justice to Bill in a notification like this one. Rest assured that there will be more about Bill in the next issue of La Brita Esperantisto. Much as many of us would dearly like to salute Bill, I'm afraid that lockdown restrictions limiting public gatherings and entry into Wales mean that it is very unlikely that we will have the opportunity to. If the situation changes, I will post an update. Bill's family have nominated two charities which meant something to Bill, should anybody wish to make a donation in his memory. They are: Citizens Advice Bangor, which offers free, independent and confidential advice that helps people with legal and financial worries, and of which Bill was a trustee; Awyr Las Gogledd Cymru - Blue Sky North Wales, an NHS Charity that supports the specific hospital wards, departments or community healthcare services which the NHS in North Wales cannot provide. Nia amiko Bill Chapman, kiu esperantistiĝis nur 16-jara, bedaŭrinde forpasis pace ĵaudon la 21-an de majo 2020. Dum unu jaro li bataladis kanceron, kun siaj kutimaj gajeco kaj optimismemo. Malgraŭ granda kloplodado izoligi lin, Bill bedaŭrinde enhospitaliĝis pro KOVIM-19. Plena nekrolojo aperos en La Brita Esperantisto. Pro la pandemio, ŝajnas neeble, ke eksterfamilianoj povos partopreni la funebraĵojn. Se la situacio ŝanĝiĝos, mi diskonigos la informojn. La familio de Bill elektis du bonfarajn asociojn al kiuj oni povus mondonaci memore al Bill. Tiuj estas: Citizens Advice Bangor (Konsila servo por civitanoj en la urbo Bangor), kiu proponas senpagajn, sendependajn kaj konfidencajn konsilojn al homoj kun zorgoj leĝaj kaj financaj, kaj de kiu Bill estis kuratoro. Awyr Las Gogledd Cymru - Blue Sky North Wales, bonfaraĵo de la nacia sanservo, kiu subtenas precipe la hospitalajn sekciojn kaj sanservojn en la komunumo, kiujn la NHS (Nacia sanservo) en Norda Kimrujo ne povas provizi.
  5. 2 points
  6. 2 points
    I've found Duolingo's Esperanto course to be an excellent resource. It's by far the best of the courses they offer of those I've tried, and the only one where I've come away able to converse in the target language. I keep a general list of learning resources here. For complete beginners, I'd recommend starting with Duolingo (make sure you join the Facebook group too) and these introductory video lessons. D.K. Jordan's Being Colloquial In Esperanto is an ideal read once you've got going. Check EAB's member map, Eventa Servo, and Duolingo Events for opportunities to meet other speakers.
  7. 2 points
    Catch 22 is about right, I think, Rhys. I know of thorough translations which exist but permission for which was subsequently declined, meaning that the work won't see the light of day. Frustrating for the translators and a reason underlying why I personally won't translate ahead of securing permission to publish. But then that puts you in the difficult position of then having to produce something at the appropriate level within a time frame. I don't think people in general realise how difficult and time-consuming translation is if it's done correctly. There's a reason that most professional translators translate into their native languages rather than from them into a learned one. In our case, we're all translating into something which isn't our native language. That makes the job harder. As Edmund pointed out earlier regarding La Krubalo and a soon-to-be-announced book, there are often additional complicating constraints. Those books rhyme and really heavily on single-syllable words, which we don't tend to have in Esperanto outside of pronouns, prepositions and numbers. Then you have to match the metre and the imagery. The Krubalo-style book which we'll announce in a week or so took a fluent speaker seven months to get to a position he was happy with, and even then Edmund and I recommended some changes afterwards. It's tricky. Perhaps one day we'll be in a position where we can manage this a little bit better. It's early days for us at the moment. It's been a fun ride so far, though, with more to come 🙂
  8. 2 points
    I like your plan Rhys. you say you are looking for conversation partners. One of the best programmes available to learners is on the edukado.net website and is called 'Ekparolu!'. https://edukado.net/ekparolu/prezento It pairs komencantoj with more experienced speakers who are happy to give their time to help new learners etc improve in their use of the spoken language. A highly recommended tool. Watch the introductory video in the link above or read all about it in the recent article in uea.facila https://uea.facila.org/artikoloj/ĝenerale/venu-kaj-ekparolu/ By the way, that's another great tool for learners, in case you had not discovered it yet. Finally, DON'T wait until 'you are good enough' to go to a local meeting or EAB events (Lernu, Lernu Plu, the national conference, other events). As a well-known Esperantist recently said, you are not going to swim by reading books on swimming... 😉
  9. 2 points
    I think there probably is an opportunity to get more books published just by coordinating and managing the process. Publishing a book is a daunting prospect if you have to do everything by yourself: not just translate, but find people to edit and proofread, negotiate with a publisher, typeset, design a cover, arrange printing and distribution, publicity, ... It's enough to put most people off even starting. But if you have a team of people with some experience then you might be able to encourage other people to get involved. Sezonoj published a couple of books ("Rustimuna Ŝtalrato", "Ŝerloko Holmso") that had different people translating different chapters: a good way to get new people involved. Could we arrange some sort of training for translators? That's probably beyond us. However, a lot of skills are transferable between languages. I think the classes I had in translation between English and German, a long time ago, helped me translate between English and Esperanto, and books I've read about translation theory have helped as well. But those projects with multiple translators also must have helped people learn, provided they paid attention to all the criticism and debate that followed the first draft of each chapter. Perhaps EAB should help organise something like that one day. Anyone want to discuss this idea in Leicester?
  10. 2 points
    That's a very thorough answer, so thanks for that! Hmmm, it seems that sometimes it's a bit of a catch 22 then? As in, Esperanto needs more skilled speakers to become passionate enough to take on the difficult process of translation, but publishers don't take the proposition seriously if there's no professionally organised interest? I hope in my lifetime at least I will see this change - there appears to be such a business opportunity for large and small publishers to encourage translations into Esperanto. Imagine how their audiences and sales would expand! I'm really passionate about this and feel that for the language to spread further we need to get younger generations to see Esperanto as a viable lingua franca across the world when they encounter a new favourite book/ youtuber/ Netflix series. ......Or perhaps I'm just a doey-eyed komencanto? 😉
  11. 2 points
    Quite apart from legal/practical problems there's the problem of getting a good translation. Some of these books are rather hard to translate. The author picks some words that rhyme in the source language, certain objects get incorporated into the story and the pictures, and then the translator somehow has to find rhymes in the target language. If you'd been writing originally in the target language you would have picked different objects. But even with ordinary prose it takes some skill and a lot of work to get a good translation. As for the process, it will depend on who owns the copyright. There's a distinction to be made between co-publishing/co-printing, which is what happened for "La Krubalo" and "Mil Unuaj Vortoj" and another forthcoming book - see articles in the next issue of "La Brita Esperantisto"! - and there's the ordinary sort of permission to publish a translation. Some publishers are set up to do co-printing in multiple languages and have a draft contract all ready. You just need to show them you're a serious and trustworthy client publisher. EAB now has some credentials for that. However, I'm not sure whether EAB has done the ordinary sort of translation, though there are a couple of active projects in that area. Sometimes publishers are not very responsive if they get an e-mail from someone they don't already know. Perhaps in some cases it works better to meet them at a Book Fair, like the London one that's just been coronacancelled. There's also the case where no special permission is required. Probably most translations into Esperanto are of originals that are out of copyright. There are plenty of famous classics not yet translated. My https://rano.org/frateto/ is a much more unusual subcase: it's a modern and famous book that was already licensed for anyone to translate it. (I think it's aimed at "young adults".)
  12. 2 points
    Saluton again. Sent off answers for the 1st chapter of the 'Elementary'course and got a prompt response from my tutor. It took me a while to get to that point as I was busy at work, but the tutor was understanding. In the interim I have also been reading the old short book 'The Esperanto Teacher' available from this site. I actually really like this one - as it easily nailed a couple of aspects I was unclear about .....such as the use of 'n' to distinguish the 'object' from the 'subject' and how this principle carries across all the words relating to the object. As with anything you are learning new, there is a learning curve and every time something starts to make sense, you open the next page to be greeted by a whole new batch of grammar that immediately sets you back. But I will not give up. I will keep you updated as I go....if you are also a Komencanto and still progressing, feel free to send me a message - it would be good to support each other through.......Dankon !
  13. 2 points
  14. 2 points
    The story of how I learned Esperanto has been told countless times before, whether on the Duolingo Esperanto learners' Facebook group or in the 'Brita Esperantisto'. However, for the uninitiated, here's the story. I was a lost, confused teenager who had no life or social skills and began to learn Esperanto due to a break up and wanting to learn a simple language. Unlike most people who were starting at the same time as me, I was always behind, struggling with my learning. However, I persevered and carried on studying, attending events from NOJEF funding to improve my skills. It became a monthly occurrence, requesting NOJEF funding and travelling to somewhere with-in Great Britain, whether England, Scotland or Wales. My level of Esperanto increased as did my social skills, confidence and life skills. This all came to a head when during a Lernu Plu, Tim Morley suggested that I come along with him to Slovakia for an international event called SES, and so, Tim Morley, Anna Langley, Ali Mechan and myself began our two day travel across Europe by car to Slovakia. I was scared, I had never left the country, it was little over a year ago that I had even left my tiny Scottish almost-village in Ayrshire to the big city of Manchester, England. I remember getting to the Euro Tunnel and being scared of the 'border police' and experiencing my ears being blocked from a pressurised environment for my first time. Arriving in France and going to a shop, where the other person couldn't speak English, the confusion of this for me and being shocked that we are driving on the 'wrong' side of the road! The crossing of countries, freely via the Schengen zone, and reaching the autobahn, speeding by at 200km/h! Even being confused by the the 'exit' sign in German, I remember saying, 'wow! All roads seem to run to this place called 'Ausfahrt'. As we arrived at our stop over point in Germany, staying at a stranger's home was apparently normal to Esperanto speakers, but to me, I was freaked out, I couldn't sleep the whole night! In the morning, we carried on our journey towards Slovakia and when we reached Czechia, I was shocked, they are in Europe, but they don't accept Euros?? There was so much to learn. SES was an emotional roller coaster, I was so struck with change, my autistic brain just couldn't cope and I wasn't being the best friend I could with everyone, maybe causing a little drama. SES was amazing though, I learnt so much, I was shocked that I could use this language I thought I'd never be able to speak. The problem with this experience was, that the journey was more valuable to me, than the actual event. It was being with friends, actually having friends, talking to people and understanding things, which, I couldn't grasp before. A few weeks prior to SES, Damon Lord, via Twitter, sent me a link to work in Toulouse in Esperanto. I thought it was cool, but I never could do it! I wasn't good enough. But after talking to my friends and experiencing SES, I thought, hey why not apply to it. So I did. I got my interview with Marion from Esperanto-Kultur-Centro de Tuluzo and I couldn't understand half of what they were saying, the internet was terrible and their computer fan was far too loud. But what did I have to loose, I worked in Tesco (What I lovingly called and still do call, Tescaĉo.) and I hated my job there. So I accepted with little to no knowledge of what I was actually signing up for. It was going to be hard for me though, it took me my whole life to make friends, and I finally had friends in Manchester, Guilherme Fians, Marco Pedroni, Adam Hall, Martin Rue and others, who were all Esperanto speakers. I was scared to give that all up. But somehow I knew, this was the right thing for me to do. Before I left however, I went to one last Lernu and little did I know, the surprise I would receive there.. It was the last day of the Lernu. I was ready to leave, Adam Hall was going to drive me back to Manchester. However, at the end, the lovely Ed Robertson, said they had one last announcement. I was confused. This never normally happens, I wonder what is up. He announces that I am going to France in a weeks. That is nice I thought, but then they pull out this bag full of French learning books. I was in awe and the top of it, they played the tear-jerking video from Ian Carter, telling me, how proud of me everyone is and how I've done so well in facing my disabilities and life. I am crying just writing about it now. I couldn't stop crying, all I thought is, I don't deserve this. I don't deserve this. It was at least £200 worth of French learning material, that all my friends secretly bought me. How they all cared about me. I couldn't deal with it. I just cried and cried and cried. Finally, I felt welcome, I felt loved, I felt as if I fit in. I knew for awhile that I was getting well known, it is a running joke, that I am the 'Fama Sammy Kennedy' (Although, I still do think it is fifama) but that was amazing. Before I left, I met the amazing James DeVoge who lives in Paris but came to Barlaston for the course. He said he would meet me in Paris to get my connection to Toulouse. I was so happy as I was travelling by train to there, due to my massive fear of flights. My life was going somewhere.. The 24th of September 2018, one year to the date, that my longest term girlfriend cheated on me, that started this catalyst of learning Esperanto, I was moving to Toulouse, I packed my suitcase full of everything I needed. I waved my brother goodbye who guested me in his house during my stay in Manchester and so I jumped on my train to London. In London my suitcase broke!! One wheel out of two down. It was only a £35 XL case from Argos and I did massively over-pack it. I arrived at St. Pancras and I got on the Eurostar to Paris. I met a lovely woman on the train, who spoke to me about how much I'll love Toulouse. When in Paris I met James and we swapped to the train station by Metro! (The first time I was ever underground!) I boarded the train to Toulouse and while I was on the train, I received an email from who I thought was going to be my landlord, stating, they weren't going to accept me! I had no clue what I was going to do. The lovely Rikardo and Jeanette (Who created Pasporta Servo) guested me until I could find a place to stay. Toulouse really was the making of me. I had to learn to survive on my own. There was no guidance, there was no support. I learned that everyone had their own life and their own stuff and I couldn't weigh them down with my own problems. I grew up learning that, I had to speak to people about my problems instead of bottling them up, but what I didn't realise was, you can't just talk about nothing but your problems to people. You'll loose friends this way. I made many friends in Toulouse, Elsa, Micheal-Boris, Greta, Flori and Emmanuelle. I became comfortable in my own skin, wearing what I felt comfortable in (Don't judge, kilts are super comfy! Haha) My greatest inspiration and buddy had to Micheal-Boris, he really is like my brother from another Mother, He is loud like me, he is like marmite like me, and he loves his food like me! We went on many adventures together, across Toulouse, we cycled across the city, across Occitanian countryside, we went hiking and we went for meals and drinks at least 2/3 times a week. I honestly love him with all my heart. And I know he loves me too. My work colleagues and I went to JES in Germany for new-years, we went by plane and I was scared, I remember being on the plane before take off, having a panic attack, this lovely kind lady sat next to me, asked if I was okay, I said I am so scared of heights, and flying and I never been on a plane before. She just spoke to me calmly and gently about what was going to happen and just about life to calm me down. Her sweet voice relaxed me so much, that I fell asleep on her!! ? Toulouse helped me learn how to have a work ethic, although I didn't do great for a lot of Toulouse, I was learning, and I feel at the end, all pistons were firing. Toulouse gave me so much experience as a person and this was due to Esperanto. Without Esperanto, I wouldn't be the person who I am today. Esperanto speakers are a very welcoming bunch, who always wanted to put me on the right path. Becoming of age via Esperanto, certainly was a unique experience, it has shaped my world view and took me from the little country boy to the internationalist that I am today. From the boy who went to his first Lernu, only knowing how to say Hello and How are you, who was scared of going into shops by himself, cried going on the train for the first time to his first Esperanto event, to the man I am today, who can easily travel via planes, can deal with whatever life throws at him and is finally happy with himself. Esperanto was there every step of the way. I was in a storm and Esperanto was my ship, but now the skies are clear and any dark clouds in the distance, I am no longer scared of but excited for the future adventures I'll encounter. ?
  15. 2 points
    Finfine ankaŭ mi finlegis la libron. Mi konsentas pri la pli fruaj komentoj de aliaj: La aŭtoro evidente ne sekvas la konsilon de Claude Piron en "la bona linvgo" eviti neologismojn; ofte deSeabra uzas "poezian" vorton anstataŭ pli simplan, mem-evidentan vorton (ekz p11 "poltrono" anstataŭ "malkuraĝulo", p17 "eosto" anstataŭ "oriento"). La gloso (p86) helpas, sed ne sufiĉas. Oni povas supozi ke la pensoj de mortanta homo vagas, kaj la rakonto ja faras tion - ĝi saltas en tempo kaj en loko, kaj ofte estis (por mi) malfacile diveni kie kaj kiam (en la sinsekvo de eventoj) ĉiu nova teksto-bloko sidu. Por mi la kunteksto kaj la rolantoj estis malklaraj, ĝis (finfine) en pp47-53 oni lernas ke la konflikto estas (laŭvorte!) nigra-blanka afero, ke (p49) la "ĉefurbo" estas en afriko sed la "metropolo" estas en eŭropo, ktp. Pro tiuj malfacilaĵoj mi ne ĝuis la libron; mi konsilas homon nur legi ĝin se vi ĝuas lukti kun teksto! (Kaj mi ankaŭ konsilas komenci per p86 tiam pp47-53, antaŭ ol legi de p1 pluen. Mi supozas ke p12 l6 "Aŭ ĉu vi konsideras ... cigaredojn?" estas pres-eraro - ĝi estu aparta alineo, kaj estu inter parol-markoj. La libro estas nekonforme alta (tro por sidi en mia librobretaro), kaj la spino estas presita inversigite, sed tiuj aferoj ne gravas ĉar mi ne emas reteni ĝin en mia Esperanta-librokolekto.
  16. 2 points
    This fantastic course will print onto two sheets of a4 and gives the basics for speaking the entire language in present tense. Only 8 verbs are introduced at this stage but, really that's not the point. Why did I not learn this earlier, it's great!
  17. 2 points
    Ho. Mi devis kontroli multajn vortojn. ? la libro ŝajnas interesa (kaj mallonga) sed mi ne scias ĉu mi vere ŝatas la rakonton aŭ la stilon. Evidente mi ne jam finis ĝin do estas tro frue por decidi.
  18. 1 point
    Gratulojn! Mi audis John Wells el Brighton (Brajtono) preskau mia hejmo. La registaron Esperantan mi faris , enhavas pli ol du cent kasedoj. En la aro estas kelkaj kiuj estas ech pli agha ol mi. La vochon de Zamenhof ne farita per mi komence estis vaksa, poste reregistrita per bendo, kaj kaj anoncita per pola radio. Mi dankas Tim - mia filo, Gary, kaj aliaj, , por la ege malfacila afero transpreni miajn bendojn. Por ni chiuj - pli vortoj audeblaj, devas sekvi baldau! Ivor ^
  19. 1 point
    Why does there seem to be not much for children?. Like youth groups and after school groups(for Esperanto)?. It makes me think that to keep a language going you need to tech the next generation. We have in the UK languages clubs like French and Spanish. And if you dig it up a bit more Saturday schools. And taught in schools (with exams).Would not be surprised if there was a holiday school. Although you should let them naturally get into interested in Esperanto. Is it because there is not many people, who would want to help with something like that? Or financing it all and paperwork? Or demand? If there was something like that you could teach them along the lines of Equality and Diversity, Cultures, Looking after the environment, ect.😀
  20. 1 point
    We're delighted to announce that EAB has revised and republished Mil Unuaj Vortoj en Esperanto (First Thousand Words in Esperanto), and it is available in our shop for only £5! This new version replaces some older vocabulary items (eg audio cassette, video) with newer ones, the appearance of computers and televisions has modernised, and some of the translations have changed from those used in earlier versions. We chose a clear, distinctive font which is reminiscent of a child's handwriting and calculated to be easy for young children to read. If you've got the second version (with the red cover), then you will immediately recognise the cover design; we chose to honour the previous version rather than simply translating the text on the very different English cover. At only five pounds, a steep discount from the retail price of £8, the book is a bargain for children and adult learners alike!
  21. 1 point
    Mi ĵus finlegis la duan volumon de "La fotoalbumo". Ĝi estas eĉ pli bona ol la unua, laŭ mi. (Jen la paĝnombroj de la tri volumoj: 366, 165, 77. Bonŝance ne estas kvara volumo, ĉar ĝi estus nura broŝuro!)
  22. 1 point
    Mi ĵus legis "Kaj staros tre alte..." de Trevor Steele. Ĝi estas pli bona ol la Jesuo-libro de Manuel de Seabra, laŭ mi. La kadra rakonto - oni prezentas la ĉefan tekston kiel biografion verkitan de romiano en la unua jarcento - estas apenaŭ kredebla, sed oni povas ignori tion kaj legi ĝin kiel ankoraŭ unu version de la vivo de Jesuo. Se vi ŝatas tiajn rakontojn - mi ja ŝatas ilin kaj legis verŝajne dekojn - eble vi ŝatos ĉi tiun. Jena sceno pensigis min. Jen kiel Jesuo renkontas la esenojn: ... Jeŝu sidis en ombro apud la bela Maro de Galileo, pensante kiel ĉiam pri sia sorto, kiam aliris lin du viroj. Ili petis permeson eksidi apud li. Post kelkaj diroj pri la belo de la lago ili menciis, ... Mi ne scias, kiel la homoj kutime ekkonversaciis en Galileo antaŭ du mil jaroj, sed oni atendus ioman ekzotecon, ioman diferencon de hodiaŭaj angloj, ĉu ne? Aliflanke, eble tiel vere okazis, kaj la aŭtoroj, kiuj inventas ekzotan parolmanieron, estas nuraj trompistoj. Jen interesa demando pri historio kaj kulturo kaj beletro, se iu volus profundiĝi. (Mi provizore ignoras la demandojn, kiel la biografo ekscius pri tiaj detaloj, kaj kial la biografo konsiderus tiajn detalojn notindaj aŭ inventindaj. Kiel menciite, la kadra rakonto laŭ mi ne bone funkcias.)
  23. 1 point
    Despite the passage of time and the occasional datedness of the material these recordings and their two accompanying booklets are well worth exploiting as teaching and learning material.
  24. 1 point
    La unuaj impresoj estas bonaj. Mi daŭrigos la legadon..
  25. 1 point
    We're delighted to announce that our latest publishing project is Spaco sur la balail', a translation by Ian Carter of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler's Room on the Broom into Esperanto! We had hoped to launch the book at our conference in April. Unfortunately, the coronavirus pandemic has led to our cancelling the conference and to delays in the book reaching us. We can't currently be sure of the exact delivery date but we fulfill our pre-orders as soon as we take receipt of the stock. The book costs only £5. If you're from the UK, please note that you can include another 1.8kg of books in the package before the postage bracket rises (currently £3.10 for up to 2kg), so you might wish to take advantage by ordering some more books, which we'll despatch alongside it. Our Twitter account shows several books which are new in stock 🙂
  26. 1 point
    Arthur Whitham (1893-1942) was born to a weaver called James William Whitham and his wife Margaret of 106 Hurtley Street, Burnley. He went on to become a socialist and an activist for the Independent Labour Party and a speaker of Esperanto, and travelled widely using the language. The planned international language Esperanto, which meant so much to him, arrived in Burnley well before the First World War. Two local people appeared in the Adresaro (Directory of Esperanto speakers) for 1906. They were Pastro (i.e. Rev.) J. Morgan Whiteman of 312 Padiham Road, and J. Simpson of 28 Keith Street. In April 1906 a Burley Esperanto Society was formed, with J.W. Hartley of 24 Lubbock Street as its secretary. That Society continued to meet through the two world wars until about 1975. In 1913 there were two separate Esperanto societies in the town, both meeting every day. The secretary of one was Miss Judson, while the other, calling itself ‘Antaǔen’ (Forwards) had T. Fernley as secretary. We must presume that Arthur Whitham learned the new language through one of the Burmley Esperanto societies. He was certainly familiar with Esperanto in 1913, because he appears as the local representative for Burnley in the Jarlibro (Year Book) of Universala Esperanto-Asocio for that year. His address then was given as 20 Hornley Street. His deputy was Herbert Hardaker of 27 St Mathews Street. It is possible to piece together some of his story, although there are gaps to be filled. It is possible that he served as a soldier in the Loyal North Lancashire Regiment, but there are so many men with the same name that it is difficult to be sure. He married fellow cotton weaver Annie Leeming in 1920. His international travels using Esperanto began the following year. In the summer of 1921 he visited Prague, then in Czechoslovakia, after taking part in the German Congress held in Dresden. Arthur Whitham gave several talks on his travels, not only in Burnley, but also in neighbouring Nelson. I can find no trace of his writing an account of his experiences, although he clearly spoke well. Local newspapers reported extensively on his travels, partly because he was a local ‘character’ and partly because it was so unusual at that time for a working class person to travel widely and independently. AN ESPERANTIST’S VISIT TO PRAGUE. —On Thursday the Nelson Esperanto Society were favoured with a lecture from Mr. Arthur Whitham, Burnley, on his recent visit to the 13th Universal Congress of Esperantists at Prague. Leaving Burnley in good time Mr. Whitham found it possible to visit also the National Congress of German Esperantists at Dresden, which took place several days prior to that at Prague. After the latter congress some time was spent in the northern part of Chechoslovakia (sic). In Dresden the people are still rationed for bread, coupons having to he used. Owing to the tremendous fall in the value of the mark, the lecturer and a friend were able to dine at the best hotel for 4s. (including waiter’s gratuities and all charges for the two persons)! Travelling about in the company of people of almost every nationality he found, as he experienced on previous occasions, that Esperanto quite vindicated its claim to be presentday practical medium both for pleasure and business. One cannot see 2,500 people of over 40 different tongues meeting together in unity and understanding and remain a sceptic as to the language which enables them to do it. Returning alone through Germany, Mr. Whitham said he experienced nothing but kindness everywhere. Glowing tribute was paid to the services rendered by the delegates of the Universal Esperanto Association who met the visitors and conducted them from the station to the hotel, acting as interpreters where Esperanto was not understood, and in many ways removing difficulties usually encountered. Seeing a card in shop window "English spoken here,” Mr. Whitham essayed a joke. Entering the shop he addressed the attendant in broad Lancashire dialect. "Wheer is that mon as can talk English” (or some such phrase). ”He is here," replied the man, ”and I perceive that you are from Lancashire.” The joke having rnlssed fire, the visitor learned that the attendant formerly lived in Blackpool. The lecture was delivered entirely in Esperanto, and was thoroughly enjoyed the members of the local society. (Nelson Leader - Friday 14 October 1921) We know that Arthur Whitham stayed with a couple Mr and Mrs Willi Weisskopf of Saaz, a small village now in Austria. A little over a year later, Arthur Whitham gave a similar talk in Nelson, which also diligently reported. THE CONDITIONS IN CENTRAL EUROPE. • LECTURE AT NELSON On Tuesday evening Mr. Arthur Whitham, of Burnley, gave a very interesting lecture, in Esperanto, to the members of the Nelson Esperanto Society, in the Co-operative Room, Chapel House Road. Mr. Whitham gave a varied picture, of the condition of the people in Central Europe, as seen by him last summer, during his tour of three months duration. In Vienna, where he spent six weeks, the lecturer found beggars in every street, the condition the people being most pitiable. Notwithstanding their extreme poverty, the mass of the people by virtue of extreme care with their attire contrive to keep up appearance of respectability. Many Austrians, of whose good nature and fine qualities Mr. Whitham spoke with deep appreciation, told him that had it not been for the generous help of English and American relief societies, they must inevitably have died in thousands. The country is poor indeed, but its people are rich in the qualities which go to make up a fine manhood. Regarding Esperanto and its utility for travellers, Mr. Whitham was more enthusiastic than ever, if that is possible. It is often said that English is known everywhere, but this is not true. However serviceable English may be on the beaten track, it is not compared with Esperanto in the small countries of Central Europe, in Northern Bohemia, for instance. Esperanto is much more serviceable than English. In Czechoslovakia the three or four races which make up the population are quite hostile to the use each other's language, and Esperanto is making great headway. Anyone with a good knowledge of Esperanto who will take the trouble to write to the delegate of the Universal Esperanto Association in the various places he intends to visit will be assured of adequate help and a multitude of kindnesses irrespective of the nationality of the persons concerned. Mr. Whitham intends to visit the Esperanto Congress at Nuremburg next August. (Nelson Leader - Friday 22 December 1922) After some years active in the neutral Esperanto organisation, Arthur Whitham joined Sennacieca Asocio Tutmonda (World Non-national Association). SAT was founded in 1921 by Eugène Lanti (pseudonym of Eugène Adam) and others as an organisation of the workers' Esperanto movement. In view of his political views, it is clear that Whitham saw his home as a member of SAT. The Esperanto press also reported on his visit to Pilzeň (Pilsen) Kara gasto de L.L.E. (=Laborista Ligo Esperantista en Pilzeň estis dum kelkaj tagoj S-o Arthur Whitham el Burnley (Anglujo), kiu per siaj rakontoj entuziasmigis la membrojn al la nova laboro. (La Progreso, 1. July 1922) In English : A dear guest of the WorkersEsperanto League in Pilzeň for a few days was Mr Arthur Whitham from Burnley (England), who, by his stories enthused the members to new work. In 1923 Whitham joined the 3rd SAT Congress in Germany, but I can find no evidence that he was present there. I cannot find any evidence of Arthur Whitham travelling abroad in 1923 and 1924, but we do know that in 1925 he travelled alone overland to the Soviet Union. One cannot exaggerate the interest in and suspicion about the Soviet Union in the United Kingdom at that time. UNDER SOVIET RULE. Burnley Man's Experiences in Russia. BOROUGH MEMBER'S HELP. Mr. Arthur Whitham, of 20, Hornby-street, Burnley, who is well known in Burnley Trade Union and Socialist circles, has this week returned from an adventurous and extremely interesting visit he has paid to Russia. Mr. Whitham, vho was in Russia from the first week in August, went entirely "on his own for the purpose of studying conditions at first hand, and he has come back able to give remarkable accounts of political, industrial and social conditions under the Soviet system. Many of the difficulties attending any attempt to enter Russia - unless one goes as a "privileged person" were smoothed away by Mr. Whitham being able to refer the representatives of the Soviet in London to Mr. Arthur Henderson, the Borough Member. One of the difficulties is that three months' notice is required for any "unprivileged" person wishing to visit Russia; but Mr. Whitham, with the assistance of Mr. Henderson, was able to persuade the Russian Consul-General in London that this was unnecessary in his case. Mr. Whitham states that after the frontier difficulties were over he had nothing but kindness from the representatives of the Communist Party. "Wherever I went," Mr. Whitham told a "Burnley News” representative last night, "they did their best to help me, whether I was visiting the villages, or the prisons, or the factories and workshops. It was always the same. Doors were thrown wide open, and always the greeting was, 'What can we do for you, comrade?' They did not know I was coming, and therefore it couldn't be a case of things being prepared for one." Mr.Whitham addressed meetings in various places, and found the Russian workers everywhere eager to learn about political conditions in England and especially about the prospects of Communist revolution in this country. Mr. Whitham says he had to tell them plainly that their eager expectations in this direction were not warranted in any sense by the facts, and described vividly the surprise of the Russian workers at the apparent lethargy the "proletariat" of this country on the question of getting rid of their "chains". Mr. Whitham has brought back examples of Soviet posters (advertising the advantages of dealing with the Co-operative shops in Russia), and some interesting photographs. But much of the literature he had collected was confiscated when he entered Poland on his return journey. Mr. Whitham has, as stated, a great deal that is interesting to say about various aspects of the Soviet regime in Russia, and in next Wednesday's, issue of the "Burnley News" a full account of his observations and comments will be given. (Burnley News, Saturday 12 September 1925) The Burnley News even printed a short text in the planned language, with a few errors. LA OFICIALA LINGVO D£ LABORO. La Sinkikata Kongreso en Scarborough akceptiis rezolucion de la Amalgamated Engineering Union, kiu instruis la Generalan Konsilantaron adopti Esperauton kiel la oficialan. internacian lingvon. Oni bonvenigis delegitojn el Kanado, Usono, Rusujo kaj La Sindikata Kongreso en Scarborough Meksikio. Translation -The Trades Union Congress at Scarborough accepted. a resolution from the Amalgamated Engineering Union, instructing the General Council to adopt Esperanto as the official international language. Delegates from Canada, the United States, Russia and Mexico were enthusiastically welcomed. ln view of the above resolution it is interesting to note that Mr. Arthur Whitham in his interview with the "Burnley News" on Wednesday makes mention that Esperanto enabled him to converse freely with people on the Continent during his three months tour, from which he has just returned. One wonders why children at school and at college are allowed to rack their brains learning several languages, when it would be much easier to teach .them a common language. In the new movements that are taking place industrially and politically all over the world, it is interesting to note that the workers' organisations are realising "the handicap of language and are endeavouring to overcome it. (Burnley News, Saturday 19 September 1925) "RUSSIA - MY IMPRESSIONS" No one should miss the opportunity of hearing a lecture on Russia first hand. On Thursday, October 1st, at 7-30. p.m., Mr. Arthur Whitham will speak on Russia in a lecture entitled. "Russia: My Impressions." Mr. Whitham's many friends need no reminding that his "lectures" are always entertaining and interesting. More than one quarterly meeting of members of the Burnley Weavers' Association has been given an added interest when Mr. Whitham has risen to lead the debate. l am looking forward to the lecture myself very much. Lectures on Russia have been given in Burnley before many times—but usually the lecturer's interpreter has taken the "life" out of the subject. Mr. Whitham will give us Russia in plain, homely, Lancashire phraseology. (Burnley News - 19 September 1925) Sennaciulo, the periodical of the lefty-wing movement SAT published an article on 24 September 1925, entitled ”Kelkaj rezultoj de laboristaj ekskursoj en Sovet-Unio” (Some results of workers’ trips to the Soviet Union) mentioning Whitham, but mis-spelled his name as Witham. In 1926 Arthur Whitham joined the SAT Congress in Leningrad as participant number 198. Again he extended his visit in order to experience more of life in the Soviet Union. Again the Burnley News saw his experiences as newsworthy, dedicating almost a whole page to his travels, and printing a photo of a group of men and women cotton workers in Ivanovo, Mr. Whitham himself being seated among the group. This visit took place just after the General Strike of May 1926. MORE LIGHT ON RUSSIA, MR ARTHUR WHITHAM'S SECOND VISIT A Burnley man, Mr Arthur Whitham, of Reed Street, Burnley Wood, well known in connection with the local Socialist movement, and also a stalwart of Esperanto has recently paid a second visit to Soviet Russia, and has brought back with him interesting news of the present situation there, along with some souvenirs and curiosities which help to throw light on the trend of affairs under the successors of Lenin. It may be remembered that Mr. Whitham, alone and unaided, so to speak, by any high official recommendation was able to reach the interior of Russia last year, and, once inside, succeeded in striking up acquaintance with many influential representatives of the Soviet regime, and brought home much interesting news of the institutions and practices set up under the Communist control. We published at the time a full account of his impressions. .. An Approved Visitor, Mr Whitham left Burnley on another visit to Russia late in July this year, and returned towards the end of October. He has already given some account of his new experiences and observations in the Soviet Republic to Burnley Esperantists, and also this week to members of the Harle Syke Branch of the I.L.P. He has much to tell which is of considerable interest in present circumstances, and to "Burnley News" representative on Thursday he gave details of his journey and of his impressions ... Mr Whitham's primary object was to attend an International Socialist Congress, which was held at Leningrad (the former St. Petersburg). This was attended by representatives of about a score of nations, including most of the European peoples, Chinese, Japanese, and other Asiatic races were also represented. There were 35 delegates in all from England. Mr. Whitham's visit last year gave him a special status at the Congress. He was elected one of the vice-presidents, and in that capacity sat with other officers on the "praesidium" of the hall where the Congress met (this was in the former Russian "House of Commons" — the Duma building of the old regime. The sessions of the Congress occupied a week, and then Mr. Whitham spent nearly two months looking at things Russian in the big towns and the little villages. Mr. Whitham mentions that textile wages, which, as mentioned in the accounts of his last year's vsiit, are on a much lower level than in England, have been going up. A rise in the cost of living accompanies the wages increase, nevertheless, and Mr. Whitham repeats what he ponted out last year - that the work done for the wages is much less than in this country, the Russian operatives seldom having more than two looms He speaks again also, with some admiration, of the system of providing cheap meals for the mill workers in kitchens at the mills. "I had a good three-course dinner at one of them for ninepence!" Mr. Whitham said. Nevertheless, the higher quality of British goods appears to be one of the vivid impressions Mr. Whitham brings back with him. What he saw of the textile products, not merely of the Russian worker, but of the continental operative generally, led him to this somewhat emphatic conclusion. BURNLEY MACHINERY. "There is still a big housing problem," Mr. Whitham went on, “and the population is growing at a great rate, especially in the big towns. There is an unemployed problem. But it isn't a big one; the officials of the textile unions told me their unemployed would all be working within a month." Mr. Whitham mentions that in one factory he noticed an old tape machine bearing the name of a Burnley firm—Messrs. Butterworth and Dickinson. In other places he saw machinery which had come from Lancashire frms, such Messrs. Tweedale and Smalley. as the result of the placing of Soviet orders in this country a year or more ago. Mr. Whitham spent an interesting time at Ivanovo, a town known among the Russians as "Red Manchester."... Mr. Whitham brings back a very positive conviction that there is no directly political motive behind the big drafts of Russian money which have come to this country in aid of British miners during the coal trouble. He gave public addresses – one of them in a town hall – on the British miners’ situation in the coal struggle, and on working-class conditions generally in the country. ... He speaks again also, with some admiration, of the system of providing cheap meals for the mill workers in kitchens at the mills. "I had a good three-course dinner at one of them for ninepence!" Mr. Whitham said. Nevertheless, the higher quality of British goods appears to be one of the vivid impressions Mr. Whitham brings back with him. What he saw of the textile products, not merely of the Russian worker, but of the continental operative generally led him to this somewhat emphatic conclusion. ... And I have no doubt whatever,” Mr. Whitham stated, "from what I saw of the propaganda on the matter, that the millions of money sent to the miners of the country has come from the Russian workers themselves. After one of my addresses, they decided each to give fourth of a day's pay, and they gave their money there and elsewhere undoubtedly because the British miners are workers like themselves, and because they believed they were in a bad way. There is genuine sympathy for the workers of every country. It is probably true that the money has been given, also, in the idea that it would help the prolongation of the strike; but when I asked if they were hoping for a revolution in this country, they asked if I imagined they were foolish to think a revolution could be produced with the money they were giving. There was enthusiasm everywhere for the cause of the British miners." Mr. Whitham gives the impression that he saw and heard little to justify the suggestion that recent differences among the leaders of the Communist party constitute a menace to the security of the present Soviet regime. There are troubles in the party, he says, but he thinks the responsible leaders are strong enough to ward off any danger to the Soviet political order as it stands. He does not think there is any special sympathy, politically speaking, between the Soviet and the republican regime in Germany. ... Among his interesting personal experiences Mr. Whitham mentions a visit to a barracks at Smolensk. He was introduced to the Commandant by a soldier-Esperantist with whom he had become friendly at the Congress. There was special parade of the troops, and Mr. Whitham addressed them. He was made honorary Officer of a Cavalry regiment, and presented with the regimental shoulder badge. The Burnley man also paid visits to schools and prisons. He spoke to children at the schools, and found them well up in geography. The teachers are capable but ill-paid. At the prisons he found an undue tendency to leniency of treatment, resulting in some offenders appearing again and again as prisoners without detriment to their cheerfulness. (Burnley News - Saturday 20 November 1926) Arthur Whitham was not alone in Burnley in having left-wing and Esperanto leanings. Listed in the 1927 Jarlibro (Yearbook) of Sennacieca Asocio Tutmonda (Worldwide Non-Nationalist Association) alongside him is K-do (Comrade) Herbert Ward, also a weaver, of 8 Brockenhust Street. In the 1928 Yearbook they are joined by A.C. Bland of 61 Williams Street. Esperanto was relatively strong in the town. In 1928 no less than thirteen people from Burnley attended the Universala Kongreso held in Belgium. They were: F-ino (=Miss) Annie Lancaster, oficistino (=office worker), F-ino (=Miss) Annie Hurley, F-ino (=Miss) Ada Greenwood, F-ino (=Miss) Emile Poppleton, F-ino (=Miss) Elizabeth Shackleton, oficistino (=office worker), S-ro (=Mr) William Foulds, oficisto, (=office worker), S-ino Elizabeth Foulds, S-ro (=Mr) Mason Stuttard, teksisto, S-ino Mason Stuttard, F-ino (=Miss) Dora Bowker, teksistino, S-ro (=Mr) Thomas Bond, teksisto, S-ro (=Mr) Jack Shuttleworth, teksisto, F-ino (=Miss) Susan Alice Hartley, teksistino. The last four names, as well as Mason Stuttard, all declared themselves to be weavers. Mason Stuttard (1903-1983) wrote a popular Esperanto textbook which had five separate editions, and he wrote stories and poetry in the language. A talented speaker of several languages, he did not return home to UK after the Second World War, but remained in Yugoslavia for many years as Tito's personal English interpreter.
  27. 1 point
  28. 1 point
    Saluton Rhys, Mark, Matio & Rico It's great to see this site gathering a bit of pace - you can see that with the number of people signing up daily. Rhys, I too am a komencanto and a bit out of my depth in full blown conversations. However it is amazing, how much you can pick up in such a short time. I am conscious though, that whilst my reading skills are getting on great - I've never had an opportunity to chat and have my pronunciation corrected. Keep falling into the trap of sounding vowels differently ie 'domo' with the 1st 'o' as in dog and the 2nd as in 'boat' - my mind knows what to say - but my mouth wants to say something else ! So I'm just going to jump in - I've booked a place on the Lernu session on 9th May. Might be worth setting your sites on that - gives you a few months to build up. Good luck, speak soon Dave
  29. 1 point
    Are you a Duolingo learner? How are you finding it? What do you use to supplement it? How are you going about learning Esperanto?
  30. 1 point
    Saluton Matio! Dankon for being so kind and welcoming - it's really appreciated. You're also very lucky living nearby to York - I've only visited a few times but I've liked it every time. The Yorvik Centre is firm favourite of mine, and I'm keen to get in that stunning Minster! As I said to Mark, I'm a little wobbly currently when it comes to the thought of live communication just yet - I only seriously re-began my learning about 3-4 days ago. With the date being a few months away, perhaps I'll feel more ready? Either way, hopefully sometime soon, I will pop by - watch this space! Thanks again for the invite 🙂
  31. 1 point
    Saluton Mark! it's very exciting to virtually meet you and to know that you guys are so close-by. I'm still feeling a little chicken about actually communicating live as of yet, as I still feel quite out my depth with this, and my currrent vocabulary is extremely limited. However, as there is a week or so before then, I'll see how I feel a few days before. Really hope I feel ready to take the plunge then, as I know how beneficial it is for learning. If not, then I will definitely definitely be along soon - one of the reasons I love Esperanto is for the vibrant, friendly community afterall! Gis baldau!
  32. 1 point
    Rhys, I see that you're listed yourself as being in Nottingham and that you're looking for an Esperanto Skype get-together. Well, I have good news for you!
  33. 1 point
    That gives me a much clearer image of the problem there Tim, so thanks for that. I can't imagine the relief and sense of accomplishment when a successful translation is written/ you can see the finished product in front of you! I'm obviously very new on my Esperanto journey, but sometime in the future I'd love to be involved in this. Some of the exisiting Esperanto literature out there looks beautifully prominent, but some also a bit hit and miss. I can't help thinking that with the right resources, man power, and backing from publishers, children's books, translations of YA fiction and some of the classics (new and old) is the way to go? If only we could get the J.K Rowlings and Malorie blackman's of the world on side! As you said though, I'm sure it's all part of the upcoming plan - here's to hoping passionate folks such as yourself get to drive the vanguard some-day!
  34. 1 point

    18 downloads

    La Blanka Rozo 285 de printempo 2020
  35. 1 point
    Occasionally one comes across critics of Esperanto who suggest that the language can only be used in conferences arranged for that purpose. In fact most of my use of Esperanto on my travels over the years has been in private settings away from conference centres and the like. I am not against structured meetings, but I have a lot of experience of, for example, sleeping on the floor of a farmhouse in Croatia or having coffee and cakes in the garden of a German family. During 2019, I was lucky enough to visit Japan twice. In January, I went alone to discuss with the city council in Himeji practical aspects of the twinning of "our" castle in Conwy with their castle. In October I travelled there again, this time with my wife Pat and four colleagues to sign an agreement between these two noble castles, both recognized by UNESCO as being important to World Heritage. During my first visit I used English for two days, with the help of an interpreter, and subsequently only Esperanto for five days. I had the pleasure of meeting friendly Esperantists. I was invited to lecture about Wales twice - first in Himeji, then in Kobe. These good-natured people spent a lot of time with me, explaining a lot to me, especially about Japanese food and religious practices. Local Esperantists guided me on an excursion to Nara, the former capital of Japan. I also visited Kobe where I was present at the start of a murder trial. I understood what was happening, thanks to Nakamiti Tamihiro who was sitting next to me, whispering translations. Then he sent me the verdict of the judge in that case. Mrs Yosida Nobuko taught me the Japanese tea ceremony with patience. It's dangerous to mention names, because people can easily be left out, but I am happy to thank Tada Ryuji and Tukamoto Takesi who did so much for me in Himeji and Isogai Naotake in Kobe. Takatoshi Somekawa was kind enough to accompany me to the airport on my last day. Before the tea ceremony. A few months after my return home I went to see a doctor about an unusual back pain. Finally, a serious illness was diagnosed. Due to the uncertainty, I contacted my Japanese friends to explain that my planned return in October 2019 had become really uncertain. A little later I received a package from Japan with greetings from members of the Harima Esperanto Society, based in Himeji. Knowing that I was not in good health, they sent me an unusual and touching gift. Senbazuru is a group of thousand origami paper cranes joined together by string. An ancient Japanese legend promises that whoever folds a thousand origami cranes will receive a gift from the gods (if I understand correctly). In Japan, the crane was considered a mystical animal believed to live for a thousand years. Because of this, it has become a symbol of good luck and long life. The Esperantists in Himeji worked together in making this multi-coloured symbol of their good wishes. Finally, with the permission of my oncologist (needed, so that I could get insurance), I decided that I would be able to visit Japan again in October 2019 to attend the formal signing of the agreement for the twinning of the castles. My wife and I made the trip to Japan, and again local Esperantists welcomed us and made every effort to make us feel at home. Ritual cleaning of hands. We had a green tea with local Esperanto speakers during a visit to an azuki bean museum in Himeji. Yes, there is an azuki bean museum in Himeji dedicated to a type of bean! We also ate cakes made from adzuki beans, also called azuki or aduki. There is only one Esperanto word: azukio. Probably the most striking part of our stay in Japan was a visit to the Oomoto Centre. By bus 23 Esperantists from the area around Himeji travelled to Kameoka together. On the way, we visited the most sumptuous, most luxurious toilets I have ever seen. I have never previously seen chandeliers in public toilets near a motorway! The Oomoto bus. Arriving at the Oomoto building, we met a young woman called Unika, a board member of the youth organisation TEJO from Korea, and a young Spanish man called Alejandro. There we were able to attend a ceremony of a religion or sect that originates from Shinto, but emphasizes that there is only one God. I thank Toshiomi Okuwaki for responding to my questions. We also watched a Noh drama. This is the oldest Japanese form of theatre combining music, dance, and acting. Little "happens" in Noh drama, and the overall effect is of a metaphor. Informed and educated Japanese spectators know the story's plot very well, so what they appreciate are the symbols and subtle allusions to Japanese cultural history contained in the words and movements. Well, Pat and I certainly couldn't understand the whole thing, but I could appreciate the unusual music and the graceful dancing. With friends, outside some luxurious toilets! Esperanto has definitely helped me get to know a country with culture and traditions that were completely new to me.
  36. 1 point
    Ni havas 4 ekzemplerojn en la vendejo Sed mi estas tute kontenta starigi sondon pri la elektota ĉiaokaze. Mi tamen proponas iom da atendado, ĉar sendube mi ne estas la sola, kiu ricevis Esperantajn librojn je Kristnasko kaj ŝatas legi ankaŭ ilin!
  37. 1 point
    Ho jes, la tria volumo nur lastatempe eldoniĝis. Raklamojn pri ĝi oni povas vidi en kelkaj el la pasintaj eldonoj de la revuo 'Monato'. Mi certe aĉetos ĝin se ne baldaŭ, ĉar mi lastatempe aŭ aĉetis aŭ alimaniere ricevis plurajn E-librojn kaj ne estas sufiĉe da tempo en la tago! Pro la sama kialo, mi kunsentas pri ioma malrapidigo de la sinsekvo de legotaj libroj.. Pri 'La enigmo de la ar@eneo', bedaŭrinde mi ne posedas ekzempleron. Do, se vi volas legi tiun libron, bonvolu fari tion kaj mi rekomencos la komunan legadon kiam la grupo legas 'La fotoalbumo Vol II'. ?
  38. 1 point
  39. 1 point
    Trevor Steele ne sekvas la konsilon komenci "en la mezo de aferoj". Mi trovis, ke en "La fotoalbumo" nenio interesa okazas ĝis pago 25. Sed ekde tie la teksto estas interesa. Mi legis jam trionon de la libro (la unua volumo). Kompreneble la fotoalbuma strukturo ne ebligas facile komenci en la mezo de aferoj.
  40. 1 point
    It's an honour to know you, Sammy!
  41. 1 point
    Mian vi vidos ĉe eBay. Ĝi kuŝas kun la skatoloj, kiujn mi alportos al Esperanto-Domo post du tagoj.
  42. 1 point
    Mi antaŭvidas kelkajn ekzemplerojn de 'Ĉu vi konas....' sur la tablo de 'brokantaj libroj' dum la venonta Brita kongreso...
  43. 1 point
    Jes, ankaŭ por mi, forĵeti libron estas la plej lasta paŝo, kiun mi nur faras, se mi ne tute povas trovi novaj hejmon por ĝi. Kiam temas pri nebezonataj Esperanto-libroj, mi simple portas tiujn al la Brita kongreso, kaj metas ilin sur la "brokantaj libroj" tablo - tiam se iu ja aĉetas, EAB profitas iomete, kaj la libro ja havas novan hejmon. (La risko estas ke post la fino de la kongreso, Viv devos forporti pliajn brokantajn librojn ol ŝi kunportis!) - Vilĉjo
  44. 1 point
    I'm late to this, but would like to join. Where is the list of £5 books on offer for this club? I know I have Surklifa..
  45. 1 point
    @Vilĉjo Walker kaj @Tim, vi ambaŭ diras, ke vi ne intencas aŭ emas konservi la libron... Do, jes... ankaŭ mi ne havis la plej altan opinion pri la libro. Tamen, mi tute ne povas forĵeti ĝin. Mi tute ne kapablas fari tion! Temas pri libro. Ĉu vi aŭdis min? L-I-B-R-O. Mi ne kapablas forĵeti librojn. ?
  46. 1 point
    Kiel vi scias, @Tim, mi nun finis la legadon de la libro. Mi povas konfirmi, ke eĉ leginte la tutan rakonton, oni ne ricevas sufiĉe kompletan priskribon de la ĉefroluloj, de la interagoj, de la eventoj, de la intrigo. Fakte, eble jen la problemo: mankas (sufiĉe bona) intrigo. Nur unu fina demando elstaras por mi..
  47. 1 point
    Mi konsentas. Kelkfoje verkistoj ludas la ludon "Mi konas vorton, kiun vi ne konas", tiel uzante vorton, kiun fakte preskaŭ neniu konas. PS Dankon pro la sciigo pri la glosaro. ?
  48. 1 point
    Same pri tiuj ĉi vortoj. Mi devis kontroli kelkajn vortojn, ekzemple senjori (p8). Leginte la difinon, mi facile rekonas la francan radikon. Ĉu estas bona ideo uzi jaman vorton apenaŭ konatan, kaj tiel devigi eĉ spertajn legantojn iri al vortaro? Mi ne certas.
  49. 1 point
    Saluton al ĉiuj. Mi intencis aĉeti la legotan libron, Ĉu Vi Konas Blaise Cendrars, sed bedaŭrinde, ĝi ne plu haveblas de EAB - ĉu EAB ankoraŭ atendas novan stokon de tiu libro? Aŭ ĉu mi mendu rekte de UEA?
  50. 1 point
    Eh, who knew? The font doesn't contain the accented characters (https://fonts.google.com/specimen/Lato) and yet everything was displaying correctly in most parts of the site. Haven't a clue what's going on unless by fluke the relevant characters in the substitute fonts happened to look very similar at certain font weights. Rather than mess around, I've dropped Lato as the site font and replaced it with one which supports Esperanto characters.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use. Please familiarise yourself with our Guidelines for posting and consult our Privacy Policy to ensure that you're happy with how we use your information.